Track 3: CCU - Closing the carbon loop: Carbon dioxide Capture and Utilisation

Coordinators: Frans Snijkers - Guy Marin

General introduction

CO2 provides an interesting potential as a sustainable carbon resource. Recently, CO2 utilisation has therefore evolved from an academic interest to an economically viable technology.

The CCU conference, teaming up with the European FP7 collaborative project SUCCESS (, forms an essential scientific track in  BSDS 2015 and will bring together researchers from academia and industry to discuss state-of-the-art in CO2 capture and utilization.


  • Liisa Rihko-Struckmann - Senior scientist Max-Planck-Institute of Dynamics for Complex Technical Systems Magdeburg, Germany
  • Katy Armstrong - Network manager UK Centre for Carbon Dioxide Utilization, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • Joost Vanden Berghe - Pincipal Consultant DNV-GL, Belgium


  • Aditya Dharanipragada - Ghent University, Belgium
  • Carl de Maré – Arcelor Mittal, Belgium
  • Lindsey Garcia Gonzales - Flemish Institute for Technological Research (VITO), Belgium
  • Grégoire Léonard – Department of Chemical Engineering, University of Liège, Belgium
  • Erin Schols - TNO, The Netherlands
  • Koen Michiels - University of Antwerp/Flemish Institute for Technological Research (VITO), Belgium
  • Alexandre F. P. Ferreira - LSRE-Laboratory of Separation and Reaction Engineering, Associate Laboratory LSRE/LCM, Faculdade de Engenharia, Universidade do Porto, Portugal
  • Deepak Pant - Flemish Institute for Technological Research (VITO), Belgium
  • Sunil A. Patil - Laboratory of Microbial ecology and Technology, Faculty of Bioscience Engineering, Ghent University, Belgium
  • Ramses Snoeckx - Department of Chemistry, University of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Lionel Dubois - Chemical & Biochemical Engineering and Thermodynamics Departments, Faculty of Engineering, University of Mons, Belgium
  • Jan Mertens - Laborelec - Engie, Belgium
  • D. Banitt and Julie Horn - newco2fuels, Israel
  • An Verberckmoes - University Ghent, Belgium


  • Stefan Penthor, Tobias Mattisson, Juan Adanez, Stephane Bertolin, Pascal Fede, Yngve Laring, Oyvind Langorgen, Jochen Ströhle, Frans Snijkers, Knuth Albertsen, Gareth Williams, Otmar Bertsch, Olivier Authier, Ytalo Davila, Mahdi Yazdanpanah, Tobias Pröll, Hermann Hofbauer - TU Vienna, Austria
  • Tobias Mattisson, Marijke Jacobs, Mehdi Pishahan, Juan Adanez - Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
  • Pilar Gayán, A. Cabello, A. Abad, F. García-Labiano, L. F. de Diego, J. Adánez - Instituto de Carboquímica, Zaragoza, Spain
  • Mehdi Pishahang, Yngve Larring, Martin Sunding, Kari Anne Andreassen - SINTEF, Oslo, Norway
  • Karl Mayer, Stefan Penthor, Ellen Schanz, Michael Stollhof, Hermann Hofbauer - TUVienna, Austria
  • Michael Reitz, Peter Ohlemüller, Jochen Ströhle, Bernd Epple - TUDarmstad, Germany Reitz, Peter Ohlemüller, Jochen Ströhle, Bernd Epple - TUDarmstad, Germany


  • Topic 1: Fundamentals in CO2 activation
  • Topic 2: Catalysis and biotechnology for CO2 conversion into energy products and chemicals
  • Topic 3: CO2 Capture
  • Topic 4: Chemical Looping Processes
  • Topic 5: Photocatalytic and electrochemical reduction of CO2


  • Prof. A. Bogaerts, Antwerp University
  • Dr. H. De Wever, VITO
  • Dr. Ludo Diels, VITO
  • Dr. V. V. Galvita, Ghent University
  • Prof. G.B. Marin, Ghent University
  • Prof. V. Meynen, Antwerp University
  • Prof. M. Saeys, Ghent University
  • Dr. F.M.M. Snijkers, VITO